Skip to content

How to Create a Haphazard One-Sheet

August 5, 2010

I’m heading to the Willamette Writers Conference in Portland, OR today, and I just finished printing out all the promo documents I will hopefully run out of as agents and publishers clamor to throw money at me and my Camino memoir. Hopefully.

Below is a my one-sheet, which I learned about yesterday. After much research I think I have  a good grasp as to what makes up a one-sheet, so maybe this will be a helpful example or template for other prospective writers. It should also give you a bit more info regarding what my Camino memoir will include. (Turns out it’s going to include massive wine consumption.)

The bad news is I only learned about one-sheets yesterday. That means I had just a few hours to whip something up in Word with my minimal design skills, then throw words haphazardly at what is supposed to be the most professional looking document a writer produces.

Oops.

Well, as this will be my first writing conference, I’m fully prepared to take my knocks and learn as much as possible. Without further ado, my one-sheet:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2011 2:18 pm

    how did the one-sheet work for you last year?

  2. Dylan Romero permalink*
    July 10, 2011 7:03 pm

    Ended up being mostly unnecessary. When I successfully pitched my book agents/editors just asked me straight up to send them my proposal.

Leave a comment